Tragedy in the Philippines the topic tonight at PW call-in

Philippinesrubble520x2

CHICAGO - Like Hurricanes Sandy and Katrina here in the United States, Super Typhoon Haiyan, which devastated the Philippines, has become much more than a weather event. People are asking "Who or what is to be blamed for the fact that millions of victims still haven't been helped."

You will have the opportunity tonight to hear from and talk with a community leader who is well qualified to tackle these issues. You can participate in a national call-in and hear from Rev. Primo Racimo, rector at St. Margaret's Episcopal Church in Chicago.

Rev. Racimo, who was born in the Philippines, is an activist in Chicago's more than 100,000 member Filipino community. He will be interviewed by John Wojcik, the People's World labor editor and vice president of the International Labor Communications Association. You will have a chance to ask questions or comment.

To participate in tonight's call in at 8 pm. ET, 7 pm CT, 6 pm MT, and 5 pm PT just dial 605 475 4850 and, when prompted, enter the code 1053538#.

Please join us for this timely and exciting event.

Photo: A survivor walks through the rubble in Tacloban. Aaron Favila/AP

 

Post your comment

Comments are moderated. See guidelines here.

Comments

  • What a great opportunity last nights Tele-Conference turned out to be.
    To hear Father Racimo detail the hardships of these poor victims was so revealing.
    While many good things can and do happen from the coffers of the capitalists...the fact remains, the poor are usually only brought to mind...AFTER the fact.
    Capitalists are re-active whereas Socialists are pro-active.
    Socialism does put people first (not profits)

    .....observer Jules.....

    Posted by jules, 11/20/2013 11:59am (10 months ago)

  • count me in.....tonight 8 PM Eastern (11-19-13)
    ..................tornado, fires, hurricanes, flooding ....
    all, upon us!


    ............observer jules........

    Posted by jules, 11/19/2013 12:53pm (10 months ago)

RSS feed for comments on this page | RSS feed for all comments